Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: GOD: eSATA stuff

  1. #1
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    GOD: eSATA stuff

    What it is: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-esata.htm

    http://www.tech-faq.com/esata.shtml

    Different connector:



    If your computer doesn't come with a eSATA port you can get one of these:

    or
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  2. #2
    thanks man.So,i can get the port and a cable and will be able to connect my sata hd that i cannot connect inside?
    *is hardware retarded*
    #963
    war "06"

  3. #3
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    Wait. You have an internal SATA HDD? If that's the case the connector for eSATA won't work on it. Why can't you connect the HDD internally?
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Intratech View Post
    Wait. You have an internal SATA HDD? If that's the case the connector for eSATA won't work on it. Why can't you connect the HDD internally?
    i do not see the right plug ins for it in there.
    #963
    war "06"

  5. #5
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    You mean the SATA port?
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  6. #6
    i got this kind of connector


    but the kind of hd i have in there already has this kind
    #963
    war "06"

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Intratech View Post
    You mean the SATA port?
    i dont know.lol
    #963
    war "06"

  8. #8
    Daniel
    ninjashoes's Avatar

    Country
    This is ninjashoes's Country Flag

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Emerald City
    Posts
    57,154
    Blog Entries
    6

    you need an IDE connection I think


    The End of Days Podcast is hosted by Resin and Ninjashoes
    Check out EndofDaysRadio.com or click here to listen

    WAR Mitch Clarke!


  9. #9

  10. #10
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    Edit: Your motherboard had the SATA ports so I assume you mean you don't have the connector for the power?



    That's a molex to SATA adaptor.
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  11. #11
    is there somewhere i can hook this thing up to in there that i didnt see?
    #963
    war "06"

  12. #12
    hmm.
    #963
    war "06"

  13. #13
    yes,power is wht i meant
    #963
    war "06"

  14. #14
    Daniel
    ninjashoes's Avatar

    Country
    This is ninjashoes's Country Flag

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Emerald City
    Posts
    57,154
    Blog Entries
    6

    I think theres USB to IDE adapters

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...9952&CatId=470


    The End of Days Podcast is hosted by Resin and Ninjashoes
    Check out EndofDaysRadio.com or click here to listen

    WAR Mitch Clarke!


  15. #15
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    If that's not the case then look at this and tell me which connector your hdd has:

    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  16. #16
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    Quote Originally Posted by GOD View Post
    yes,power is wht i meant
    Well if it's the power connector then that's easy. Just buy a molex to SATA adaptor like the ones on this picture:

    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Intratech View Post
    If that's not the case then look at this and tell me which connector your hdd has:

    the one i am using right now is the bottom one.
    the one i want to use(the new one) is the top one.
    i think there is one thing that fits the smaller part of the top one coming out of my power supply.but not for the bigger part.
    #963
    war "06"

  18. #18
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    Dude you motherboard has a shitload of ports for SATA connector:

    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  19. #19
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,224

    Quote Originally Posted by GOD View Post
    the one i am using right now is the bottom one.
    the one i want to use(the new one) is the top one.
    i think there is one thing that fits the smaller part of the top one coming out of my power supply.but not for the bigger part.
    That makes no sense, that smaller port is the SATA interface that connects to the SATA ports on the motherboard. The power supply should have a connector for the larger power connector.
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  20. #20
    how do i connect the hd then? do i need a cord of some sort? i dread breaking another motherboard. so i am going to ask every stupid question.
    #963
    war "06"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •