Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: GOD: eSATA stuff

  1. #1
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    GOD: eSATA stuff

    What it is: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-esata.htm

    http://www.tech-faq.com/esata.shtml

    Different connector:



    If your computer doesn't come with a eSATA port you can get one of these:

    or
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  2. #2
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    thanks man.So,i can get the port and a cable and will be able to connect my sata hd that i cannot connect inside?
    *is hardware retarded*

  3. #3
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    Wait. You have an internal SATA HDD? If that's the case the connector for eSATA won't work on it. Why can't you connect the HDD internally?
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  4. #4
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    Quote Originally Posted by Intratech View Post
    Wait. You have an internal SATA HDD? If that's the case the connector for eSATA won't work on it. Why can't you connect the HDD internally?
    i do not see the right plug ins for it in there.

  5. #5
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    You mean the SATA port?
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  6. #6
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    i got this kind of connector


    but the kind of hd i have in there already has this kind

  7. #7
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    Quote Originally Posted by Intratech View Post
    You mean the SATA port?
    i dont know.lol

  8. #8
    Daniel
    ninjashoes's Avatar

    Country
    This is ninjashoes's Country Flag

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Emerald City
    Posts
    56,990
    Blog Entries
    6

    you need an IDE connection I think


    The End of Days Podcast is hosted by Resin and Ninjashoes
    Check out EndofDaysRadio.com or click here to listen

    WAR Mitch Clarke!


  9. #9

  10. #10
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    Edit: Your motherboard had the SATA ports so I assume you mean you don't have the connector for the power?



    That's a molex to SATA adaptor.
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  11. #11
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    is there somewhere i can hook this thing up to in there that i didnt see?

  12. #12
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    hmm.

  13. #13
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    yes,power is wht i meant

  14. #14
    Daniel
    ninjashoes's Avatar

    Country
    This is ninjashoes's Country Flag

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Emerald City
    Posts
    56,990
    Blog Entries
    6

    I think theres USB to IDE adapters

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...9952&CatId=470


    The End of Days Podcast is hosted by Resin and Ninjashoes
    Check out EndofDaysRadio.com or click here to listen

    WAR Mitch Clarke!


  15. #15
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    If that's not the case then look at this and tell me which connector your hdd has:

    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  16. #16
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    Quote Originally Posted by GOD View Post
    yes,power is wht i meant
    Well if it's the power connector then that's easy. Just buy a molex to SATA adaptor like the ones on this picture:

    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  17. #17
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    Quote Originally Posted by Intratech View Post
    If that's not the case then look at this and tell me which connector your hdd has:

    the one i am using right now is the bottom one.
    the one i want to use(the new one) is the top one.
    i think there is one thing that fits the smaller part of the top one coming out of my power supply.but not for the bigger part.

  18. #18
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    Dude you motherboard has a shitload of ports for SATA connector:

    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  19. #19
    Gentleman & a scholar
    Snake's Avatar

    Country
    This is Snake's Country Flag

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,221

    Quote Originally Posted by GOD View Post
    the one i am using right now is the bottom one.
    the one i want to use(the new one) is the top one.
    i think there is one thing that fits the smaller part of the top one coming out of my power supply.but not for the bigger part.
    That makes no sense, that smaller port is the SATA interface that connects to the SATA ports on the motherboard. The power supply should have a connector for the larger power connector.
    "Oi relax you animal!"
    "Actually that's what I'll be calling you now... Animal."


  20. #20
    Banned or Dead


    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    (> ^_^)>
    Posts
    30,779

    how do i connect the hd then? do i need a cord of some sort? i dread breaking another motherboard. so i am going to ask every stupid question.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •